
  

OP. NO. 03-105 

WELFARE (SOCIAL SERVICES): CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT — FOSTER 
CARE. 

CRIMES AND OFFENSES GENERALLY: CRIMES INVOLVING MORALS AND 
DECENCY – FAMILY OFFENSES; CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN, ETC. 

CIVIL REMEDIES AND PROCEDURE: ACTIONS. 

LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT: CHILD LABOR. 

Chapter 816 creates affirmative defense to criminal acts, but not civil 
findings, of child abuse and neglect. 

The Honorable Martin E. Williams 
Member, Senate of Virginia 
December 16, 2003 

Issue Presented 

You ask whether Chapter 816, which was enacted by the 2003 Session of the 
General Assembly and approved by the Governor, creates an affirmative defense 
to criminal acts of child abuse, as well as to civil findings of child abuse. 

Response 

It is my opinion that Chapter 816 creates an affirmative defense to criminal acts 
of child abuse and neglect, but does not provide an affirmative defense to civil 
findings of child abuse and neglect. 

Background 

You have been advised that local departments of social services interpret 
Chapter 816 to mean that parents may be free from criminal prosecution, but not 
civil liability. You question whether Chapter 816 provides an affirmative defense 
to criminal and civil proceedings against the parent. 

Applicable Law and Discussion 

The 2003 Session of the General Assembly enacted Chapter 816, relating to the 
protection of infants.1 Abandoning a newborn child falls within the definition of 
child abuse and neglect.2 Chapter 816 amends § 18.2-371.1(B), a portion of 
Virginia’s criminal child abuse and neglect statutory framework, to include the 
following language: 

2. If a prosecution under this subsection is based solely on the 
accused parent having left the child at a hospital or rescue 
squad, it shall be an affirmative defense to prosecution of a 
parent under this subsection that such parent safely delivered 



the child to a hospital that provides 24-hour emergency services 
or to an attended rescue squad that employs emergency medical 
technicians, within the first 14 days of the child’s life.[3] 

Chapter 816 adds the same language in § 18.2-371.1(B)(2) as a second 
paragraph in § 18.2-371 and as subsection B in § 40.1-103.4 Chapter 816 also 
grants civil and criminal immunity to hospitals and rescue squads accepting 
abandoned newborns.5 Finally, Chapter 816 grants local departments of social 
services the authority to take custody of abandoned children, arrange appropriate 
placement for the child, and institute proceedings to terminate parental rights.6 

Depending upon the act, child abuse or neglect is a Class 4 felony under § 18.2-
371.1(A) or a Class 6 felony under § 18.2-371.1(B)(1). Violation of § 18.2-371 is 
a Class 1 misdemeanor, and violation of § 40.1-103 is a Class 6 felony.7 Thus, in 
cases of safe delivery of a child not more than 14 days old to a rescue squad or 
to a hospital that provides 24-hour services, Chapter 816 creates an affirmative 
defense to criminal prosecution under §§ 18.2-371, 18.2-371.1 and 40.1-103. 
Absent proof of an affirmative defense, violation of these statutes subjects the 
guilty party to punishment of jail time and fines. 

The Code does not contemplate civil prosecution for child abuse and neglect. 
Rather, under Chapter 15 of Title 63.2,8 local departments of social services 
investigate complaints of child abuse and neglect and determine if such 
complaints are "founded" or "unfounded."9 The names of those found to have 
committed child abuse or neglect are placed in the central registry.10 

Whereas the purpose of §§ 18.2-371, 18.2-371.1 and 40.1-103 is to deter 
conduct and punish those found guilty of violating the respective statute, the 
purpose of a finding of abuse or neglect under Chapter 15 of Title 63.2 is the 
protection of children. Section 63.2-1500 sets forth the general policy of the 
Commonwealth regarding suspected child abuse and neglect. Specifically, the 
General Assembly has declared in § 63.2-1500 that 

it is the policy of this Commonwealth to require reports of 
suspected child abuse and neglect for the purpose of identifying 
children who are being abused or neglected, of assuring that 
protective services will be made available to an abused or 
neglected child in order to protect such a child and his siblings 
and to prevent further abuse or neglect, and of preserving the 
family life of the parents and children, where possible, by 
enhancing parental capacity for adequate child care.[11] 

I am aware of no statute or case law which states that the purpose of Chapter 15 
of Title 63.2 is to punish one found to have committed child abuse or neglect. 
Moreover, while Chapter 816 provides an affirmative defense to several criminal 
statutes, findings of abuse and neglect under Chapter 15 of Title 63.2 are not 
included. 

Conclusion 

Accordingly, it is my opinion that Chapter 816 creates an affirmative defense to 
criminal acts of child abuse and neglect, but does not provide an affirmative 
defense to civil findings of child abuse and neglect. 



12003 Va. Acts ch. 816, at 1129 (amending and reenacting §§ 18.2-371, 18.2-
371.1, and 40.1-103, and adding §§ 8.01-226.5:2 and 63.2-910.1). 

2See Va. Code Ann. § 63.2-100 (LexisNexis Supp. 2003) (defining "abused or 
neglected child" as any child "[w]hose parents or other person responsible for his 
care abandons such child"); see also Va. Code Ann. § 16.1-228 (LexisNexis 
Repl. Vol. 2003) (defining "abused or neglected child" as any child "[w]hose 
parents or other person responsible for his care abandons such child"). 

3Chapter 816 designated a subdivision 1, and added a subdivision 2, to existing 
subsection B of § 18.2-371.1. See 2003 Va. Acts, supra note 1, at 1129. 

4See id. Section 18.2-371 pertains to crimes against children, and § 40.1-103 
pertains to child labor. 

5Section 8.01-226.5:2 grants civil and criminal immunity to rescue squad and 
hospital personnel "receiving a child under the circumstances described in" the 
second paragraph of § 18.2-371, § 18.2-371.1(B)(2), or § 40.1-103(B), except 
when injury to the child "is the result of gross negligence or willful misconduct." 

6See 2003 Va. Acts, supra note 1, at 1129 (citing § 63.2-910.1); § 63.2-910.1 
(LexisNexis Supp. 2003). 

7See Va. Code Ann. § 40.1-103(A) (LexisNexis Supp. 2003). 

8Chapter 15 of Title 63.2 is entitled "Child Abuse and Neglect" and sets forth the 
state requirements for reporting incidences of suspected child abuse or neglect. 

9See § 63.2-1505(A)(7) (LexisNexis Repl. Vol. 2002). Pursuant to § 63.2-
1503(A), the State Board of Social Services has adopted regulations pertaining 
to child protective services. The regulations define "founded" to mean "that a 
review of the facts shows by a preponderance of the evidence that child abuse 
and/or neglect has occurred. A determination that a case is founded shall be 
based primarily on first source evidence; in no instance shall a determination that 
a case is founded be based solely on indirect evidence or an anonymous 
complaint." 22 Va. Admin. Code 40-705-10 (West 2003). "‘Unfounded’ means 
that a review of the facts does not show by a preponderance of the evidence that 
child abuse or neglect occurred." Id. 

10See § 63.2-1515 (LexisNexis Repl. Vol. 2002). "‘Central registry’ means a 
subset of the child abuse and neglect information system and is the name index 
with identifying information of individuals named as an abuser and/or neglector in 
founded child abuse and/or neglect complaints or reports not currently under 
administrative appeal, maintained by the [Virginia Department of Social 
Services]." 22 Va. Admin. Code 40-705-10. 

112002 Va. Acts ch. 747, at 1108, 1197 (quoting § 63.2-1500, not set out in 
Virginia Code) (emphasis added); see also 2003 Op. Va. Att’y Gen. 02-148 
(Feb. 11, 2003), available at 
http://www.vaag.com/media%20center/Opinions/2003opns/02-148.htm. 
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